Berla+Kathryn+BEAU+AND+BETT+cover+concept+low+res.jpg

Beau and Bett

By Kathryn Berla

A Modern Retelling of Beauty and the Beast

After Beau LeFrancois mother wrecks the Diaz family’s luxury SUV, Beau volunteers to work off the debt at the Diaz Ranch. He’s prepared to work, but he’d definitely not prepared for the infamous temper of Bett Diaz—nicknamed “The Beast” at school. As Beau learns the secrets behind Bett’s tough exterior, he finds himself falling for her. That is, until he catches Bett in a lie.

Beau and Bett is a sweet interracial romance for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han, as well as a powerful and timely story of a young woman standing up for herself in the wake of trauma.


praise for Kathryn Berla:

[Reveals] both the selfishness and the generosity of the human spirit. Readers of realistic fiction will appreciate the rich, engaging characters and be drawn into this story of overcoming sadness to open one’s heart to another.
— VOYA, Perfect Ten review
Berla Kathy author photo.jpg

About Kathryn Berla

Kathryn Berla is the author of the young adult novels Beau and Bett, Dream Me, The House at 758, and Going Places, as well as the thriller The Kitty Committee.

Kathryn grew up in India, Syria, Europe, and Africa. Her love for experiencing new cultures runs deep, and she gives into it whenever she can. She has been an avid movie buff since childhood, and often sees the movie in her head before she writes the book.

Kathryn graduated from the University of California in Berkeley with a degree in English. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.